Skip Navigation



CAA 2015-2020 Strategic Plan

You are invited to review CAA’s new Strategic Plan 2015–2020, that was approved by the Board of Directors at its May 4, 2014, meeting and will begin in July 2015. The plan is the result of over twelve months of work by the Task Force on the Strategic Plan 2015–2020, chaired by Anne Collins Goodyear, past CAA president, and comprised of members of CAA’s board, committees, and staff, as well as stakeholders in the visual-arts. Results from a comprehensive survey of members about new opportunities and the future direction of the association, as well as one-on-one interviews with twenty-one external colleagues, introduced and refined key issues. In addition, CAA’s Professional Interests, Practices, and Standards Committees and affiliated societies were consulted. A planning retreat was held at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute for board members, Clark fellows, and CAA executive staff. Finally, CAA members had a chance to see and comment on a draft version of the plan at the Annual Members’ Business Meeting in Chicago at the 2014 Annual Conference. In short, I believe this plan reflects the thoughts and ideas of virtually every corner of CAA’s constituency.

I am confident that the new strategic plan lays the groundwork for CAA to address the critical issues in the visual-arts, including the changing academic workforce, professional development, digital expertise and resources, advocacy, diversity, and social communication.

CAA is poised to continue its dynamic leadership in the field, as put forward by the new Strategic Plan 2015–2020. I hope you will review the principal goals and objectives outlined in the plan and join me in celebrating an exciting future for CAA.

DeWitt Godfrey
CAA President
Professor of Art and Art History
Colgate University

Task Force on the Strategic Plan for 2015–2020

  • Anne Collins Goodyear, Bowdoin College Museum of Art, Past CAA President, Chair
  • DeWitt Godfrey, Colgate University, CAA President
  • Maria Ann Conelli, Brooklyn College, City University of New York, CAA Vice President for External Affairs
  • Gail Feigenbaum, Getty Research Institute, CAA Vice President for Annual Conference
  • Suzanne Preston Blier, Harvard University, CAA Vice President for Publications
  • Doralynn Pines, Metropolitan Museum of Art, ret., CAA Secretary
  • John W. Hyland, Jr., Media Advisory Partners LLC, CAA Treasurer
  • Jeffrey P. Cunard, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, CAA Counsel
  • Patricia McDonnell, Wichita Art Museum, CAA Secretary
  • Jacquelynn Baas, Independent Scholar and Curator
  • Maria Elena Buszek, University of Colorado, Denver
  • Paul Catanese, Columbia College Chicago
  • Stephanie D’Alessandro, Art Institute of Chicago, CAA Board
  • Jacqueline Francis, California College of the Arts, CAA Board
  • Mara Hermano, Rhode Island School of Design
  • Michael Ann Holly, Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
  • Jim Hopfensperger, Western Michigan University
  • Denise Mullen, Oregon College of Art and Craft, CAA Board
  • Sheila Pepe, Pratt Institute, CAA Board
  • Anne-Imelda Radice, American Folk Art Museum, CAA Board
  • Megan. K. Young, Dishman Art Museum, Lamar University

CAA Staff

  • Linda Downs, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
  • Michael Fahlund, Deputy Director
  • Teresa Lopez, Chief Financial Officer
  • Michael Goodman, Director of Information Technology
  • Emmanuel Lemakis, Director of Programs
  • Joe Hannan, Editorial Director
  • Betty Leigh Hutcheson, Director of Publications
  • Nia Page, Director of Membership, Development, and Marketing

Strategic Plan 2010–2015

CAA has made great strides to meet the goals of the Strategic Plan 2010–2015, published in October 2010 under CAA past president Paul B. Jaskot. Many of its key issues, including innovative communication technology, workforce issues, and professional development, will continue to be of focus in the Strategic Plan 2015–2020.